Just another day..

I recently purchased a Logitech Wingman Extreme 3D pro. I always liked flight sims and space combat sims, so I thought it might be nice to play one again. I’ve played through a bit of Freespace 2. The game is still completely amazing, and it came out years ago. I was looking at newer games. The HAWX 2 game looked cool, but the DRM is crazy, and I would never buy something that required me to have an internet connection. I downloaded the demo to the HAWX game, the first one, because the DRM wasn’t as crazy on it. Sadly the game crashed my computer. Intel graphics cards are worthless for 3D gaming. Video playback – they are amazing, but they really need to fix the game handling.

Today at work, I was asked to fix someone’s computer + router(Linksys wrt54g2) + wimax modem. Two other people tried, and weren’t able to get it working. I tried a bunch of stuff with the configuration files. I got the computer to work with the modem, and I got the router to work the modem (after updating the firmware), and my computer would work with it in the middle, but only on a wired connection. After playing around with it for a while longer I tested it with another router. It turns out that the router was bad.

I will say this. After playing around with settings on that Linksys router, I never plan to buy one. Sure the product was faulty which is why it took me a while to fix the thing, but the interface was horrible and impossible to use compared to the D-Link routers that I normally use.

Leave a Reply

